Minutes of the Forestry SIG Annual Meeting

Vancouver, BC, Canada Jun 5, 2022

1) Welcome and Meeting Objectives

Foroogh Abasian, president of the Forestry Special Interest Group (FSIG), opens the meeting by welcoming the attendants. Foroogh thanks David Martell for co-chairing with her the OR in forestry Cluster. Foroogh provides an overview of the meeting agenda and asks if there are any additions. Acceptance of the agenda is moved by Jules Comeau and seconded by Luc Lebel. 2) Approval of 2021 Annual Meeting Minutes

Forough opens the floor for comments or questions related to the Minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting that to all active members by email prior to the meeting. There are no comments or questions. Approval of the minutes is moved by Luc Lebel and seconded by Gregory Paradis.

3) Review of FSIG Activities and Initiatives

Foroogh reviews the FSIG activities during 2021-2022.

OR in Forestry Cluster at CORS 2022

Two FSIG members chaired the OR in Forestry Cluster: David Martell and Foroogh Abasian. In total, the program included 15 presentations, five regular sessions and one special sessions. The special session was the David Martel Student Paper Prize in Forestry (DMSPPF). The two finalists of the 2022 DMSPPF were Sahar Ahmadvand and Salar Ghotb.

4) FSIG communications

Foroogh mentioned that 2021/2022 Communications included the publication of the Minutes of 2021 FSIG annual meeting, announcements related to DMSPPF (call for papers), announcements related to OR Forestry Cluster (call for abstracts), information distributed via e-mails, CORS Bulletin, CORS FSIG Website, FSIG LinkedIn.

Foroogh presents the list of current FSIG members (77) and reminds the attendants about the procedures for renewing FSIG membership: (1) renewing CORS membership and checking the FSIG checkbox in the membership renewal form, or (2) contacting the FSIG president and requesting membership.

7) Micro-Conference

Jules Comeau explain how FSIG can organizes virtual micro-conferences during the year (e.g. a PhD student who would present a published paper).

8) Meeting Close

9) List of attendants

- Foroogh Abasian
- Jules Comeau
- Gregory Paradis
- Luc Lebel
- Elahe Ghasemi
- Krishna Teja Malladi